Emperor’s Cup/Prefecture tournaments

Over the last two weekends, the prefectural football tournaments that decide which teams go into the Emperor’s cup has taken place. There were a mixture of high school, university, amateur and semi-pro JFL teams involved, and there were plenty of shocks along the way. Machida Zelvia & SC Sagamihara, both of whom have J.League licenses, were bundled out of the competition by lesser known teams. Honda Lock from Miyazaki were beaten on penalties by a university team, while in the sole all-JFL tie, Fujieda MYFC beat Honda FC to win the Shizuoka competition.

The prize is big: the chance to play against the biggest teams in Japan. Fujieda are one game away from facing Shimizu S-Pulse; Tsukuba University & Urayasu SC will face off for the right to play ACL quarter finalists Kashiwa Reysol and Sagawa Kyubin play Fukuoka University, with the winners going on to face current J.League champions Sanfrecce Hiroshima.

Below is a list of the champions from each prefecture in Japan.

  • Hokkaido – Hokkaido Teachers University
  • Aomori – Vanraure Hachinohe
  • Akita – Blaublitz Akita
  • Iwate – Grulla Morioka
  • Miyagi – Sony Sendai
  • Yamagata – Haguro HS
  • Fukushima – Fukushima United
  • Niigata – Niigata Management University
  • Tochigi – Tochigi Uva
  • Ibaraki – Tsukuba University
  • Chiba – Urayasu SC
  • Gunma – Thespa Kusatsu Challengers
  • Saitama – Tokyo Kokusai University
  • Tokyo – Yokogawa Musashino
  • Kanagawa – Toin University Yokohama
  • Yamanashi – Yamanashi Gakuin University Pegasus
  • Shizuoka – Fujieda MYFC
  • Nagano – AC Nagano Parceiro
  • Aichi – Toyota Sports Club
  • Gifu – FC Gifu Second
  • Toyama – Toyama Shinjo club
  • Fukui – Sarcros Fukui
  • Ishikawa – Zweigen Kanazawa
  • Mie – Mind House Yokkaichi
  • Shiga – MIO Biwako Shiga
  • Kyoto – Sagawa Printing
  • Osaka – Kansai University
  • Wakayama – Arterivo Wakayama
  • Nara – Nara Club
  • Hyogo – Kwansei Gakuin University
  • Okayama – Fagiano Okayama Next
  • Tottori – Yonago Kita HS
  • Shimane – Dezzolla Shimane
  • Hiroshima – Sagawa Kyubin Chugoku
  • Yamaguchi – Renofa Yamaguchi
  • Kagawa – Takamatsu Shogyo HS
  • Tokushima – Naruto HS
  • Ehime – FC Imabari
  • Kochi – Kochi University
  • Fukuoka – Fukuoka University
  • Saga – Saga University
  • Nagasaki – Mitsubishi Sports Club
  • Oita – HOYO Oita
  • Kumamoto – Kumamoto Gakuen University
  • Miyazaki – Miyazaki Sangyo Keiei University
  • Kagoshima – National Sports Institute Kagoshima
  • Okinawa – FC Ryukyu

The first round games take place next weekend. For the full fixture list, click here (in Japanese)


One thought on “Emperor’s Cup/Prefecture tournaments

  1. gifurichy August 27, 2013 / 9:35 pm

    Getting a bit ahead of myself but am trying to decide whether to watch Gifu Seconds vs Cereso or Nagano vs Grampus if those teams get through.

    The Minato ground in Nagoya is a pretty good ground for watching games. I watched FC Gifu play a game or two there back in the Tokai league.

    Then again, can’t complain with Kinchou Stadium can ya!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s