Gifu head coach Ruy Ramos

  • In the first ten games of the season, I wanted to get a good look at my players; both the “veteran” players and of course our young ones. That is why Junki Endo started today.
  • We might have to change some things this week. We have a game in three days time (against Thespa Kusatsu Gunma) and then another game soon after (against Tokyo Verdy). It might be asking a lot for some of our older players to play 4 games in 10 days, so we have to look at this situation.
  • As a coach, I have to look after the players. Not just physically, but also mentally too. Maybe some of the younger members of the squad feel pressure to provide immediate results. I brought in experienced players to help these younger players make the step up, so hopefully their experience can help them through this period.
  • I thought we played well in the second half, even though we lost. We can take heart from our performance. If we were boring, or we didn’t play well, and lost we would have a big problem, but we are playing well so we have to believe that the results will soon come our way.
  • Their free kick (scored by Iwakami) was fantastic. A great goal.

Gifu captain Yoshikatsu Kawaguchi

  • (Speaking about Henik) I think he looked good in midfield. We looked a bit more solid with him there. Against Tochigi we struggled when they counter attacked us, but Henik patrolled the area in front of the defence well. Although we didn’t get the result we wanted today, we can be happy with the performance.

Gifu defender Hiroshi Sekita

  • It was good to get my first appearance of the season. When I came on, (Masanori) Abe talked to me a lot and I think we had a good line of communication. Apart from the free-kick, we looked relatively calm at the back.
